Postgraduate Study

Level 7 Course

Postgraduate Study

Level 7 Course

Level 7 Courses

(Postgraduate Awards, Certificates and Diplomas)

Level 7 courses are at the same level of study as Masters degrees but they are shorter (made up to 120 credits), and without a dissertation (e.g., Postgraduate diploma).

These are offered by further education colleges in vocational subjects that develop practical skills and knowledge related to an employment area.

Level 7 Courses are provided in variety of subject areas such as Arts, Science, Law, Business Administration, Architecture, Education, Music, Health and Social Care, Information Technology etc. There are generally three common sizes of Level 7 qualifications: Award, Certificate and Diploma. The size indicates the number of credits a learner must achieve to be awarded the qualification. To gain a Level 7 Award, student needs between 1 and 12 credits, for Level 7 Certificate (13 and 36 credits), and for a Level 7 Diploma student needs 37 or more credits.

  • The Minimum entry requirements for Level 7 Course usually include a Bachelors degree (or its equivalent i.e. Graduate Diploma or Level 6 course) in an appropriate field.
  • After Level 7 qualification, students can go further on to higher education to study Masters (Top Up) Degree or Level 8 course.
  • There are a number of career routes students can take after Level 7 qualification such as getting a graduate job or becoming self-employed.
We are using cookies to give you the best experience. You can find out more about which cookies we are using or switch them off in privacy settings.
AcceptPrivacy Settings


  • Your privacy

Your privacy

We use cookies to improve your experience on our site and to show you relevant advertising.

To find out more, read our updated privacy policy and cookie policy.